Committee on Preparation for Ministry
Class Name Status/Church Phone Email
2023 (2) TE David Ullom Estherville First 515-341-0132 Contact Email
2023 (1) RE Kathy Francis Carroll First 712-265-1240 Contact Email
2024 (2) RE Gwen Detlefsen Manning First 515-490-0941 Contact Email
2024 (2) TE Cambria Kaltwasser Northwestern College 609-510-3579 Contact Email
2025 (2) TE Jennifer Olson, Mod. Denison United 317-797-5860 Contact Email
Staff TE Ian McMullen Pastor to Presby. 515-450-7534 Contact Email
b. The Committee on Preparation for Ministry* (CPM)
i. Purpose: The purpose of the Committee on Preparation for Ministry is to oversee the preparation of those who are to be ordained as Ministers of the Word and Sacrament (G-2.06) and to have oversight for the training and examination of those who desire to be Commissioned Ruling Elders.
ii. Responsibilities: The Committee on Preparation for Ministry shall:
a) Be in charge of all inquirers and candidates for church vocations and endorse the applications concerning financial aid through the appropriate General Assembly Agency.
b) Have charge of all examinations of candidates taken under care of Presbytery including Commissioned Ruling Elders, and shall carefully counsel the inquirers and candidates concerning the requirements they must meet.
c) Keep an accurate record of the training and progress of the inquirers and candidates under the Presbytery’s care.
d) Oversee the duties assigned to the Presbytery in the Form of Government, (G-2.0605)
e) Oversee the training and preparation of all Commissioned Ruling Elders and make recommendations to the Commission on Ministry regarding their suitability for ministry. The procedures for this process are found in Appendix I.
iii. Membership: The Committee on Preparation for Ministry shall be composed of six members in three classes.